Add user manually without using cli

im still learning confd, and i wonder is it possible to add user without using cli?
the first thought that come to my mind is to edit : /etc/confd/cdb/config_init.xml

<aaa xmlns="http://tail-f.com/ns/aaa/1.1">
    <authentication>
      <users>
        <user>
          <name>test</name>
          <uid>1000</uid>
          <gid>1000</gid>
          <password>$1$5Q5b/7cc$xyslIcrVzIq0Jc75RfDRt0</password>
          <ssh_keydir>/dev/null</ssh_keydir>
          <homedir>/dev/null</homedir>
        </user>
      </users>
    </authentication>
    <ios>

so if i add in the /config_init.xml same info as above but with diffrent login, will it work? or can it be done?

<aaa xmlns="http://tail-f.com/ns/aaa/1.1">
    <authentication>
      <users>
 <user>
          <name>test</name>
          <uid>1000</uid>
          <gid>1000</gid>
        </user>
        <user>
          <name>test2</name>
          <uid>1000</uid>
          <gid>1000</gid>
        </user>
      </users>
    </authentication>
    <ios>

Hello,

You can of course modify your _init.xml file(s) and set users as you need, but it will work only if you then start ConfD “for the first time” / with empty CDB. The _init.xml files are loaded by ConfD only if the database is empty/non-existent - on initial population…

If you want to load new users later when CDB configuration already exists/runs, you may need to use either northbound APIs like CLI/NETCONF/other, or e.g. tools like confd_cli (that basically uses ConfD C library to invoke its job (or you could program own tool/code with libconfd to do the same).

1 Like

thanks for reply josephm,can i have some examples of commands that i need to use fo confd_cli or netconf to add the user?