Is there a way to combine two types in one leaf?

Hi,

I am new to YANG Data Modeling Language and I would like to combine two types in single leaf. For example in _3gpp-common-yang-types.yang file there is grouping PLMNId which contains MCC and MNC leafs. I would like to concat the typedefs of MCC and MNC and create a new leaf called PLMNId. I could go to typedefs and get the patterns and combine them but i would like to stick to 3gpp standards and somehow reference them in case there occurs a change in those typedefs. I would like my leaf to be updated whenever those standard typedefs are updated. Is there a way to do that? If so can you please give an example? I saw type union but it just greedily selects the first type that input fits, it does not combine them.

Thanks in advance.

Here is the portion of _3gpp-common-yang-types.yang file:

typedef Mcc {
    description "The mobile country code consists of three decimal digits, 
      The first digit of the mobile country code identifies the geographic 
      region (the digits 1 and 8 are not used):";
    type string {
      pattern '[02-79][0-9][0-9]';
    }
    reference "3GPP TS 23.003 subclause 2.2 and 12.1";
  }

typedef Mnc {
    description "The mobile network code consists of two or three 
      decimal digits (for example: MNC of 001 is not the same as MNC of 01)";
    type string {
      pattern '[0-9][0-9][0-9]|[0-9][0-9]';
    }
    reference "3GPP TS 23.003 subclause 2.2 and 12.1";
  }

grouping PLMNId {
    leaf mcc {
      mandatory true;
      type Mcc;
    }
    leaf mnc {
      mandatory true;
      type Mnc;
    }
    reference "TS 23.658";
  }

I removed my previous comment, sorry - i missed your mention about union before…

Maybe for your use-case, choice statement could fit? You define your new elements to be one of the choice cases, each case having one of the mentioned types → Mcc/Mnc…
So possibly something like:

choice my-plmn-id {
  case mcc {
    leaf mcc { type Mcc; }
  }